Graduate Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense  |  PhD Pre-Proposal Defense  |  MA Students  |  MA Public History Students



PhD Students

PhD Post-Proposal Defense Students

David Blocker

David Blocker

Dissertation Topic
The "Waffle", the NDP, and Canada's "New Left" Since the 1960s

Supervisor
Keith Fleming

E-mail
dblocker@uwo.ca

Nina Bozzo

Nina Bozzo

Dissertation Topic
Duty or Care? Canadian General and Stationary Hospitals, Universities, and Community Ties during the First World War

Supervisor
Shelley McKellar

E-mail
nbozzo@uwo.ca

 


Erin Brown

Erin Brown

Research Topic
"Tranquilize Your Mind": Drug Use, Gender, and the Middle Class in American Popular Culture, 1955-1970

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
ebrow57@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220


Nolan Brown

Nolan Brown

Dissertation Topic
Saskatchewan Political Conservatism, 1905-1982

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
nbrown24@uwo.ca

 


Luana Buckle

Luana Buckle

Research Topic
Foodways and Values: Leicester’s Middle Classes, 1860-1900.  

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
lbuckle9@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241


Paul Burrows

Paul Burrows

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
pburrow2@uwo.ca


Jordan Chase

Jordan Chase

Dissertation Topic
'War Weariness' and the Individual Experience of War in the Canadian Corps

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jchase3@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 1203

Documents
Curriculum Vitae


John Comstock

John Comstock

Research Topic
Beyond Control: Censorship, Soldiers' letters and the BEF's monitoring of the morale during the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jcomstoc@uwo.ca




Evan Habkirk 

Evan Habkirk

Dissertation Topic
"Charting Continuation: Understanding Post-Traditional Six Nations Militarism, 1814-1918"

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
ehabkir@uwo.ca

Website(s)
www.doingourbit.ca


Frances Henry

Frances Henry

Dissertation Topic
Sex, Love, & the Noose: Sodomy & Emotions in 18th Century England

Supervisor
Allyson May

E-mail
fhenry@uwo.ca

 


Carla Joubert

Carla Joubert

Research Topic
"Barberton Daisies: The Role of White Women in the Settlement of the Transvaal in the Mid-Nineteenth Century.” 

Supervisor
Laurel Shire

E-mail
cjoubert@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262

Website(s)
cjoubert.wordpress.com


George Kennedy

George Kennedy

Dissertation Topic
teyukwatuhw^tsyoni (we all benefit from the earth): The Dish with One Spoon: Haudenosaunee inter-Indigenous relations against the backdrop of Eurocentric interpretations

Supervisor
Susan Hill

E-mail
gkenned6@uwo.ca

Jonathan Malek

Jonathan Malek

Dissertation Topic
"The Pearl of the Prairies: The history of the Winnipeg Filipina/o community, 1959-2010

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
jmalek7@uwo.ca

Website(s)
academia.edu


Daniel Manulak

Daniel Manulak

Research Topic
Canada and South African Apartheid, 1984-1994: Race, Identity and Foreign Relations

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
dmanulak@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2215


Bryan McClure

Bryan McClure

Research Topic
'Gave His Life for the Empire': Memory, Memorials and Identity in the British Commonwealth after the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
bmcclur4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2241


Michael O'Hagan

Michael O'Hagan

Dissertation Topic
"In the Midst of the Canadian Bush": Prisoner of War Labour Projects in Canada during the Second World War

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mohagan4@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
powsincanada (blog)


Sara Poulin

Sara Poulin

Research Topic
Canada's Role in the Liberation of the Concentration Camps during the Second World War, 1944-45

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
spoulin2@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2220


Allen Priest

Allen Priest

Research Topic
The Politics of Loss: Examining Masculinity and Leadership in the Cold War, 1950-1975

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
apriest4@uwo.ca

Office
LwH 2220


Robyn Schwarz

Robyn Schwarz

Dissertation Topic
"To Be On Your Own: Single Mothers In Ontario, 1957-1980."

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
rschwar8@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221

Website(s)
Twitter profile (@robynsch)


Nassisse Solomon

Nassisse Solomon

Dissertation Topic
"Rooted in History: Being Ethiopian in Twentieth Century Canada"

Supervisor
Stephanie Bangarth

E-mail
nsolomon@uwo.ca

Mary Beth Start

Mary Beth Start

Dissertation Topic
Not 'a by-gone people in quaint bonnets': Material Remnants and Historical Inquiry in a Canadian Quaker Settlement, 1810-1989

Supervisor
Michelle Hamilton

E-mail
mstart@uwo.ca

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Maksym Sviezhentsev

Dissertation Topic
Russian Policy in Ukrainian Crimea (1990-1997): Creating a Community of ‘Foreign Natives’

Supervisor
Marta Dyczok

E-mail
msviezhe@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2262


Jonathan Weier

Jonathan Weier

Dissertation Topic
National and Religious identities in the Canadian, American and British YMCAs During the First World War

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
jweier@uwo.ca

Todd Weiler

Todd Weiler

Research Topic
International arbitration, the legal and diplomatic professions, and foreign investment protection

Supervisor
Francine McKenzie

E-mail
todd@treatylaw.com

Website(s)
www.treatylaw.com
www.naftaclaims.com


Christopher White

Christopher White

Dissertation Topic
Islands of Contention: The American Influence on Maritime Territorial Disputes in East Asia during the Cold War

Supervisor
Carl Young

E-mail
cwhite53@uwo.ca

Office
LWH 2221


Elliot Worsfold

Elliot Worsfold

Dissertation Topic
Welcoming Strangers: Ethnicity, Race, and Religion in German Lutheran Ontario and Missouri, 1939-1970s

Supervisor
Robert Wardhaugh

E-mail
eworsfol@uwo.ca

Office
STVH 2160




Back to Top


PhD Pre-Proposal Defense Students

Jonathan Bayer

Jonathan Bayer

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Nancy Rhoden

E-mail
jbayer@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Blake Butler

Blake Butler

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Alan MacEachern

E-mail
mbutle32@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Benjamin Corriveau

Benjamin Corriveau

Research Topic
TBA

Supervisor
Brock Millman

E-mail
bcorrive@uwo.ca

Office


Heather Ellis

Heather Ellis

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
Jonathan Vance

E-mail
hellis3@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214


Lu Wang

Lu Wang

Dissertation Topic
TBD

Supervisor
James Flath

E-mail
lwang842@uwo.ca

Office
Lawson Hall 2214




Back to Top


MA Students

History MA Students

Name UWO Email Office
Robert Armstrong rarmst28@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Jordyn Bailey jbaile54@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Vesna Curlic vcurlic@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Patrick Holland Stergar phollan4@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Haley Kalous hkalous@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Sara Khorshid skhorshi@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Sunny Kim kkim334@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Steven Lauchlan slauchla@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Rebecca McGee rmcgee2@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Christopher McHale ctmchale@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Alexandria Neumann aneuman6@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Robyn O'Dell rodell3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Ilinca Olariu iolariu3@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Maggie O'Riordan Ross moriord2@uwo.ca LWH 2252
Austen Smith  asmit592@uwo.ca LWH 1265
Alyssa Szilagyi aszilag2@uwo.ca LWH 1265


Back to Top


History MA Public History Students

Name UWO Email Office
MacKenzie Brash mbrash2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Hayley Caldwell hcaldwe4@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Brooke Campbell bcampb87@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Alexander Fitzgerald Black afitzge6@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Thora Gustafsson tgustaf@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Lauren Lambe llambe2@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Emily Larsen elarsen4@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Delany Leitch dleitch4@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Lauren Luchenski lluchens@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Nicole Mcilwain nmcilwai@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Julia Schwindt jschwin@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Martha Sellens msellens@uwo.ca LWH 1277
Madisen Sollars msollars@uwo.ca LWH 1277


Back to Top